See prior post for the teaser...
The Trail of Tears was on display in OK in brochures at the Toad Suck Park. But it's got more than one meaning in the Hume household...
I get to Duke city about 6 and meet my mother at the door, which was unlocked and showed scant concern for security!
Mother was all red eyed and teary. Well, it is good to be missed, I thought. But no!
Mother was all chocked up by the DNC's nomination of Hillary.
"I had this tremendous reaction," she said.
"I had one too. Tears don't come close, my stomach hurts too," I said.
I tired to comfort her as a good son should.
"Don't worry mom, there is a real good chance she won't be elected. "
You would think this would sooth her angst, but strangely, I had misread the situation.
She punched me in the shoulder! And exclaimed that this was a historic occasion and for over 150 years a woman had never been nominated.
"Well, your gender has only had the vote for 90 some years, so I'm not sure the 150 number means much." Here again I was trying to get some rational grounds back into the discussion. Every little bit can help, I've come to realize. That remark didn't go over well either. Was I blind to so much in this conversation? What else was I missing?
Yes, Hillary has the nomination and my sister is probably a bit upset too as she was rooting for the Bernster. The recent emails from the DNC seems to suggest they like democracy as much as any politician and decided early to help Hill on her way to the coronation. This grass roots stuff can be annoying when the riff raff get involved.
When the smoke cleared only my mom seems to be happy about the outcome.
Actually, I'm not unhappy or emotional at about it. I've got views and they are not real important. As a gal at work said a while back, "I don't mind a woman president, just not that woman."
I think it will be an interesting race and I look forward to the debates. It's been an interesting election season and I was hoping for more fireworks from Bernie and his minions at the convention. But Bernie seems to sold it all for a plane ride and what did his supporters get for their money? Maybe like the lottery, a bit of a dream! Reasonable return, I think.
One other thing as I ponder this and do my laundry, there are clips of Michelle Obama talking about how wonderful Hillary is and how capable and her hubby joins in on this. Then we get the clip from 2008 where Hillary is not to be trusted with car keys much less the nuclear football and is totally incapable of running her house (aka Bill and his walking zipper) and therefore shouldn't be running the White house. All of which came from Michelle also. What a difference 8 years makes. Is any of that true? Is it all crap? Both can't be right? If you believe Michelle now, did you disbelieve her then? Or has Hillary turned on some super powers to eclipse the abilities of all prior presidents as our dear Leader would now have us believe?
In re the prior paragraph; I see posts from friends about how wonderful the Obamas are and they never say why, it seems to be obvious or assumed or something. But clearly the public utterances of these folks are just for show and the moment and the audience, and what they really think is pretty well hidden well away from the folks who vote. Pick your facade and run with it! But please don't point to any of it as an honest utterance.
Sorry for the soap box. The illogical aspects are much more interesting to me than what they are trying to sell.
I'll be spending a few more days here with the folks, then head home and rest my driving feet!
No comments:
Post a Comment